Castro Valley Unified School District Names Teacher of the Year Nominees

Teachers nominated for these awards demonstrate outstanding service to the students and their school community and their leadership in supporting a positive school climate. Once teachers have been nominated by their peers, a selection committee of staff reviews the nominations to select both the Masonic Teacher of the Year Awardees and Alameda County Office of Education Teacher of the Year.

The committee selected Tamara Reneau from Jensen Ranch Elementary and Candice Tigerman from  Castro Valley High School as Masonic Teachers of the Year.  Joshua Wheeler, English teacher at Redwood High School was selected as the CVUSD’s Alameda County Office of Education Teacher of the Year.

“We applaud all CVUSD teachers for their unparalleled commitment to children and public education and are grateful for their tremendous impact on our future generations. Congratulations to our nominees and those selected as the Masonic Teachers of the Year and CVUSD’s Alameda County Office of Education Teacher of the Year,” said Superintendent Ahmadi.

This year's nominees are:

Jessica Vuong, Castro Valley Elementary School

Sue Israel, Chabot Elementary School

Diana Saliba, Independent Elementary School

Tamara Reneau, Jensen Ranch Elementary

Kevin Gillmore, Marshall Elementary School

Megan Catarata, Palomares Elementary School

Jason Townsend, Stanton Elementary School

Andria Danko, Vannoy Elementary School

Michelle Koo, Canyon Middle School

Kellee Louderback-Gibson, Creekside Middle School

Candice Tigerman, Castro Valley High School

Joshua Wheeler, Redwood High School


The Board of Education will be recognizing all Teachers of the Year at its board meeting on May 9th. The Masonic Teacher of the Year Banquet will be held on April 18th and the ACOE Teacher of the Year Awards will be held October 3rd.